The ‘New Song’ Process

Heyyyy.

So when I hear a new song, I usually do the following things:

  1. Hear about 30 seconds of the song and think, “Eh.
  2. (The next day) I’ll be humming and singing the catchiest part of the song all day, without even knowing the words! (You don’t even want to hear how that sounds, it’s more like gibberish in a tune only vaguely similar to the original) So I just end up repeating the same lines over and over again.
  3. This song has been playing on in my head for a few days now, but uh oh! I know no more than around 3 lines (and even them I don’t know properly). So, I go back to my beloved Youtube and put the song on while stalking people on Facebook.
  4. So I’ve heard it a few times during this Internet session and I decide I’ll get it on my iTunes (NOT BY ILLEGAL METHODS NO DOUBT PSSHHH).
  5. Now, by this time, I’ve heard it about 541 times (on iTunes only, let’s not even start with how many times on Youtube) and I think I know all the words and I’m jamming along to my new favourite song, when I think to myself, “Wow! This song has really grown on me!” But no. Just… no. What you fail to communicate dear brain, is that actually the song has done nothing, it’s probably not even a very good one, I have simply forced myself to like the song by repeatedly listening to it over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over again. 541 times.
  6. Fast forward to a week later and I can’t stand that song anymore. When I hear the beginning of it, I would rather watch Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna, that four hour snooze-fest, than hear that three minute song for the 542nd time.
  7. About a year later, when this song comes on shuffle again, I think, “Hey, this song isn’t that bad! Why did I stop listening to this?” … Let’s just take a moment of silence to appreciate how annoying I am. (YOU DO THIS TO YOURSELF!)
  8. Anyway, so soon after 6. I hear this new song on the radio, and I think, “Eh.

And so the cycle continues.

 

ps. Currently got Work by Iggy Azalea on repeat. We all know how that’s going to end.

I know the tense and all was pretty skewed in this post, but… Eh.

3 thoughts on “The ‘New Song’ Process

  1. Pingback: No Matter How Hard I Try | Confessions of a Randomer

  2. Pingback: Habits of My Heart | Confessions of a Randomer

  3. Pingback: I’m a bit obsessed | Confessions of a Randomer

Give me your feedback!

